A female doctor wearing a lab coat and stethoscope addressing a patient.
Canadian Cancer Society

Treatments

Learning about how cancer is treated can be overwhelming – but we’re here to help. Find more information on different treatment types, tests and procedures, clinical trials, complementary therapies and how to manage side effects.
A young boy sitting with his mother and high-fiving his doctor.

Treatment types

There are several types of treatment for cancer. The type of treatment you receive depends on your type and stage of cancer, personal preference and age. Learn more about chemotherapy, surgery and radiation therapy, and other treatments such as hormone therapy, targeted therapy, immunotherapy and stem cell transplants.

A young boy sitting with his mother and high-fiving his doctor.

Tests and procedures

Your healthcare team will use different tests and procedures, such as biopsies, scans and blood tests, to confirm a cancer diagnosis, treat cancer, monitor your body’s response to treatment and check your overall health.

A female cancer researcher typing into a touch screen and holding a vial in a lab.

Clinical trials

Clinical trials answer important questions about how to prevent, detect, treat and manage cancer. Learn more about how clinical trials work, where to find a trial and how to volunteer to take part.

A smiling woman with cancer wearing a scarf on her head with another woman.

Complementary therapies

Complementary therapies do not treat cancer, but they can help some people feel better during cancer treatment. Learn about the difference between conventional cancer treatments and complementary therapies and how to choose the type that may be right for you.

Side effects

Side effects from treatment are common, but they can be managed. Learn more about how to cope with fatigue, nausea, pain and a range of other possible side effects.

Une médecin portant une blouse blanche et un stéthoscope s’adresse à une patiente
Société canadienne du cancer

Traitements

Apprendre comment on traite le cancer peut être bouleversant, mais nous sommes là pour vous aider. Voici de l’information sur les différents types de traitement, les tests et les interventions, les essais cliniques, les traitements complémentaires et la gestion des effets secondaires.

Un garçonnet près de sa mère et de son médecin qui lui tape la main (high-five)

Types de traitement

Il existe plusieurs types de traitement du cancer. Ceux-ci dépendent du type et du stade de votre cancer, de vos préférences personnelles et de votre âge. Apprenez-en plus sur la chimiothérapie, la chirurgie, la radiothérapie, et les autres traitements comme l’hormonothérapie, les traitements ciblés, l’immunothérapie et la greffe des cellules souches.

Un garçonnet près de sa mère et de son médecin qui lui tape la main (high-five)

Tests et interventions

Votre équipe de soins utilisera divers tests et interventions, comme des biopsies, des examens d’imagerie et des analyses sanguines, pour confirmer un diagnostic de cancer, le traiter, et surveiller votre réaction au traitement ainsi que votre état de santé global.

Une chercheuse écrivant sur un écran tactile, un flacon dans la main, dans un laboratoire.

Essais cliniques

Des essais cliniques répondent à d’importantes questions sur la façon de prévenir, de détecter et de traiter le cancer. Renseignez-vous sur le fonctionnement des essais cliniques, la façon d’en trouver un et d’y participer.

Une femme atteinte de cancer, un foulard sur la tête, qui sourit, en compagnie d’une autre femme.

Thérapies complémentaires

Les thérapies complémentaires ne traitent pas le cancer, mais elles aident les personnes à se sentir mieux pendant leurs traitements. Apprenez la différence entre un traitement contre le cancer et les différents cancers et les traitements du cancer.

Les effets secondaires

Les effets secondaires engendrés par les traitements sont courants, mais gérables. Apprenez comment gérer la fatigue, les nausées, la douleur et d’autres effets secondaires possibles.