Results of the September 2016 Impact Grants Competition

We are pleased to announce the results of the September 2016 Impact Grants competition. These grants represent a significant investment of almost $6 million.

We are pleased to announce the results of the most recent Impact Grants competition. This program has been designed to accelerate and focus the knowledge gained from scientific findings, in the short or long term, into outcomes that will significantly advance understanding of cancer and improve scientific knowledge, which will result in optimized patient care, improved cancer treatment or reduced cancer burden. Below is a listing of newly awarded Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) Impact Grants.

5 Canadian Cancer Society Impact Grants have been approved – 28% of all full proposals received. 59 Letters of Intent were submitted to the competition and following a scientific review 19 of these were invited to submit full applications, and 18 were received. This flagship program represents the largest project funding to individual investigators awarded by the Canadian Cancer Society. Grants are valued at up to $1.25M over a 5-year term. These 5 new grants represent a significant investment of almost $6 million.

The Canadian Cancer Society and Brain Canada have partnered to support an Impact Grant focused on brain cancer research in this competition. This partnership leverages donations made to the Canadian Cancer Society with matching funds from Brain Canada through the Canada Brain Research Fund, a public-private partnership established by the Government of Canada, enabling more brain cancer research to be funded.

The Cole Foundation and CCS Quebec division initiated the Mont Gabriel Summit Research Fund to fund research grants in the area of pediatric and young adult leukemia and lymphoma research. An Impact grant is being funded in this competition. Significant contributors to the Fund are: Molson Foundation, R. Howard Webster Foundation, Mirella and Lino Saputo Foundation, Fonds de recherche du Québec - Santé, Faculté de médecine, Université de Montréal, Letko Brosseau, Birks Family Foundation, Maryse and William Brock, CHU Sainte-Justine Foundation, Montreal Children’s Hospital Foundation, Morris and Rosalind Goodman Family Foundation, Zeller Family Foundation, David H. Laidley Foundation, Drummond Foundation,  and the Henry and Berenice Kaufmann Foundation.

Summaries of awarded grants

Please note:

  • Amounts listed below represent the total dollars awarded by grant year and may include funds for salaries, supplies, and/or equipment.
  • The start date for these grants is February 1, 2017.
  • Only the Principal Investigator is named in this listing. Co-Principal Investigators, Co-Applicants and/or Additional Authors may also be associated with these grants.

Note Carefully:

Although every effort has been made to ensure the accuracy of the listing below, this list does not constitute an "official" notification.

Successful applicants will be informed, in writing, with an official Notification of Award giving the details pertaining to their grant.

Résultats du concours du septembre 2016 pour les subventions pour un impact

Nous avons le plaisir d’annoncer les résultats du plus récent concours de subventions pour un impact.

Nous avons le plaisir d’annoncer les résultats du plus récent concours de subventions pour un impact. Ce programme a été créé pour accélérer et faire converger à court ou à long terme les connaissances découlant de découvertes scientifiques dans des applications qui feront considérablement progresser le savoir scientifique et la compréhension que nous avons du cancer. L’application de ces connaissances optimisera la qualité des soins offerts aux patients et l’efficacité des traitements, et elle améliorera la qualité de vie des personnes atteintes. Vous trouverez ci-dessous la liste des subventions pour un impact qu’a récemment octroyées la Société canadienne du cancer (SCC).

5 subventions pour un impact ont été approuvées par la SCC, soit 28 % de l’ensemble des demandes reçues. À la suite d’un processus d’examen scientifique, les rédacteurs de 19 des 59 lettres d’intention reçues ont été invités à soumettre une demande de subvention complète, 18 prix ont été décernés. Ce programme phare est la plus importante initiative pour chercheurs individuels jamais financée par la SCC. Le montant de chaque subvention peut atteindre jusqu’à 1,25 million de dollars sur cinq ans. Ensemble, les 5 subventions constituent un investissement majeur de près de 6 millions de dollars.

Un partenariat entre la Société canadienne du cancer et la Fondation Neuro Canada a été établi dans le but de financer une prix Impact supplémentaire, octroyés dans le cadre de la recherche contre le cancer du cerveau. Ce partenariat est financé à même les dons effectués à la Société canadienne du cancer et les fonds de contrepartie, versés à la Fondation Neuro Canada par le Fonds de recherche sur le cerveau du Canada, un partenariat public-privé créé par le gouvernement du Canada pour favoriser le financement de la recherche contre le cancer du cerveau.

La Fondation Cole et la Division du Québec de la SCC ont commencé le Fonds de recherche du Sommet Mont-Gabriel  pour financer des subventions de recherche dans le domaine de la recherche sur les leucémies et les lymphomes chez les enfants et les jeunes adultes. Une prix Impact est financée cette compétition. Les principaux contributeurs au Fonds sont : la Fondation Molson, la Fondation R. Howard Webster,  la Fondation Mirella et Lino Saputo, le Fonds de recherche du Québec - Santé, Faculté de médecine, Université de Montréal, Letko Brosseau, la Fondation de la famille Birks, Maryse et William Brock, la Fondation CHU Sainte-Justine, la Fondation de l’Hôpital de Montréal pour enfants, la Fondation de la famille Morris et Rosalind Goodman, la Fondation famille Zeller, la Fondation David H. Laidley, la Fondation Drummond,  et la Fondation Henry et Berenice Kaufmann.

Résumés des subventions accordées

Remarques :

  • Les sommes indiquées ci-dessus représentent le montant total en dollars accordé par année de subvention et peuvent comprendre des fonds réservés aux salaires, aux fournitures et à l’équipement.
  • La date de début de ces bourses est le 1er février 2017.
  • Seul le nom du chercheur principal apparaît dans la liste. Le chercheur principal associé, les codemandeurs et les auteurs supplémentaires peuvent être associés à ces bourses.

Note importante :

Bien que nous ayons pris toutes les précautions pour assurer l'exactitude de la liste présentée ci-dessus, celle-ci n'a pas valeur d'avis officiel.

Les gagnants du concours de bourses recevront une notification écrite officielle de bourse dans laquelle figureront les détails relatifs à celle-ci.