Challenge Grants

Highlights of the program

The Challenge grant program will support cancer research projects across the cancer continuum and across disciplines, with an ultimate goal of solving a problem (i.e. a ‘challenge’) in cancer that will be meaningful to people affected by or at risk of cancer.

Deadline dates

Abstract registrations due
July 28, 2021
Full application due date
September 22, 2021
Results announcement
January 2022
Anticipated funding start date
January 1, 2022
When a deadline falls on weekend or holiday, the next business day will be considered the deadline date.

Background

The Canadian Cancer Society (CCS) is proud to launch a new funding program in support of cancer research across Canada. We recognize that the past year has presented exceptional challenges for everyone. It has also presented CCS Research with an opportunity to review and refresh our purpose through the development of a new research strategy that is still taking shape. While we finalize our direction forward, we want to ensure that we continue to support the recovery of the Canadian cancer research ecosystem.

We do not yet know if Challenge grants will be offered on a regular basis, or whether our established programs - Innovation, Innovation to Impact, and Impact grants - will resume 'as usual'. In pursuit of Inclusive Excellence, and in alignment with our developing research strategy, we are being thoughtful about how these programs might be revised and refined to fit our evolving mandate. We also need to build resilience into our programs following the unexpected impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic. We will provide clarity as soon as we have more information.

Program description

The Challenge grant program will support cancer research projects across the cancer continuum and across disciplines, with an ultimate goal of solving a problem (i.e. a ‘challenge’) in cancer that will be meaningful to people affected by or at risk of cancer. Whether culminating in outcomes that have immediate impact (such as a tool, therapeutic, program, policy, or practice change), or those that are more long term in scope (such as an important finding relevant to the biology or etiology of cancer that could eventually be applied to improve outcomes), applicants must clearly articulate the anticipated contribution of their proposed project towards solving the identified challenge, as well as an estimated timeline for success.

Preliminary data/supporting evidence is required, and applicants must articulate how the funds provided will pave the way towards a solution to the challenge identified, both over the term of the grant, as well as next steps towards impact should the project aims be achieved. Applicants will describe how the knowledge generated through these grants will be shared and/or mobilized (with a view to next steps), with strategies beyond publications and presentations strongly encouraged (e.g. through engagement of clinicians and other practitioners or end-users early on to ensure utility).Applicants will also be required to incorporate sex, gender, and other identity factors (e.g. race, ethnicity) and their intersectionality into the research design, methods, analysis, interpretation, and dissemination of findings/outcomes wherever relevant.

Applications from the four pillars of health research (i.e. biomedical; clinical; health services; and social, cultural, environmental and population health) are encouraged, and diversity across career stage, geography, gender and other dimensions of diversity will be a component of the evaluation process. Applications will be rated on inclusive research excellence and relevance to cancer – particularly the likelihood that a project will (eventually) lead to a solution for a relevant problem in cancer.

CCS is committed to equity, diversity and inclusivity and strives to promote inclusive excellence in its research programs. We welcome eligible applicants of diverse backgrounds to apply for our funding opportunities.

Applications focused on breast cancer and prostate cancer are encouraged.

 

Funds available

Funding will be provided to support the direct costs of research, including supplies, eligible salaries, and equipment associated with the proposed work. Equipment requests cannot exceed 15% of the requested budget. Indirect costs are not eligible. Please consult our grant expense policies when creating your budget.

Total budget *
Approximately $15.75M
3-year period
up to $150K per year
Equipment
15% budget
Application score
> 3.5
* Additional partners or access to additional funds may increase this number.

Additional information

Seven peer review committees will be assembled to review the full applications. Applicants will be asked to select 1st and 2nd choices for desired panels as part of the abstract registration and application process, however CCS reserves the right to assign an application to whichever panel possesses the necessary expertise to review the proposal.

The peer review committees will be composed of diverse (gender, geography, career stage, race) scientists with expertise relevant to the submitted applications, and patient/survivor/caregiver reviewers who will evaluate the relevance of the applications to cancer (see review criteria below for more information).

Panel Description CSO Codes
C1: Mechanisms of risk, initiation, and progression Research focused on understanding mechanisms of cancer risk, initiation and spread 1.1-1.5, 2.1-2.4
C2: Molecular biomarkers Research focused on identifying and testing cancer-related biomarkers (diagnostic, prognostic, predictive), including clinical testing/application 4.1-4.4
C3: Imaging & Technology Research aimed at developing new or improving imaging modalities and/or other technologies (e.g. artificial intelligence, machine learning, nanotechnologies, robotics, wearable technologies, etc.), including clinical testing/application, for improved detection, prognosis, or monitoring of cancer 4.1-4.4
C4: Therapeutics Research aimed at identifying and developing new therapeutic approaches (including re-purposing) for treating cancer (e.g. therapeutics, radiotherapy, and surgery), including clinical testing  5.1-5.7
C5: Prevention  Research focused on the primary prevention of cancer in people (includes interventional and observational studies) 3.1-3.6
C6: Supportive Care
Research focused on patient centred outcomes related to cancer, the psychosocial and physical needs of people affected by cancer, as well as end-of-life and palliative care research 6.1, 6.6, 6.9
C7: Health Services & Policy
Research that aims to improve health service delivery related to cancer, such as quality, efficiency, cost effectiveness, equitable access, improving data collection and analysis, screening, surveillance and policy research
6.2-6.5, 6.7
Abstract registration is mandatory and will help to inform the composition of the review panels. A maximum of one application per Principal Investigator is permitted in this competition (applicants may be listed as Co-PIs on multiple applications).

Abstract registration includes:
1. Applicant details (Principal Investigator (PI), Co-PIs, Co-Applicants, Additional Authors, Patients/Survivors/Caregivers, Knowledge Users etc.)
2. Scientific abstract (and non-confidential abstract)
3. Keywords
4. Panel recommendation
5. Suggested reviewers
6. Research tracking information

Please consult the abstract registration guide for additional details. Substantive changes that significantly alter the overall goals and aims of the proposal relative to the Abstract Registration are not permitted.

When preparing the full application, the following is required:

  1. Public summary
  2. A statement that clearly articulates the challenge in cancer to be addressed (or partially addressed) by this grant. The progress to be made during the course of this grant, as well as next steps should the project be successful in achieving its aims should be described (including an estimated time frame to impact), as well as how this will be meaningful to people affected by or at risk of cancer.
  3. A scientific abstract (and non-confidential abstract)
  4. A detailed scientific proposal (about 5 pages of single-spaced text) including overall goal and aims of the project, supporting evidence, experimental design, methods, and analysis (including alternative approaches). An additional 2 pages of figures/tables/charts and associated legends are permitted.
  5. Knowledge translation/mobilization activities (beyond publication/presentations strongly encouraged).
  6. Considerations regarding sex and/or gender and/or dimensions of diversity and their intersectionalities
  7. Details of the team members including which member(s) of the research team will be responsible for which aspect of the project and a rationale for their inclusion in the project are required, and a description of the research environment where the work will take place. Consideration of equity, diversity and inclusion principles in the composition of research team must be evident.
  8. A detailed budget and justification providing rationale for the requested consumables, personnel, and equipment associated with the research project. Details must include the number of personnel required to complete the work, a description of their experience and/or education level, and their time commitment to the project. Researchers will also be requested to indicate which provinces will receive funds from the project.

The review criteria for the full application will include four main assessment categories: Research Strategy, Relevance, Team, and Environment.

Research strategy (~50%)

  • scientific merit and convincing rationale that considers critical review and analysis of preliminary data and/or published literature
  • feasibility of the project, including identification of potential problems and how they will be addressed, including alternative approaches
  • appropriate positioning of the aims to generate meaningful data/information that will support a solution to the challenge identified
  • sex, gender, and other identity factors (e.g. race, ethnicity) and their intersectionalities appropriately considered in the research design, methods, analysis, interpretation, and dissemination of findings/outcomes
  • appropriateness of the term and amount of support requested

Relevance (~25%)

  • clearly identified challenge to cancer and appropriate steps to address the challenge, both during and post-grant are well articulated
  • potential of the project to generate outcomes that will (ultimately) be meaningful to people affected by or at risk of cancer
  • knowledge translation/mobilization activities align well with grant focus and will support resolving the identified challenge

Team (~15%)

  • the qualifications and appropriate expertise of the investigator(s) and other team members (including collaborators), particularly as it relates to the potential for (eventual) resolution of the identified challenge (note that career stage of investigator(s) will be taken into consideration, including any career interruptions)
  • appropriate team members are in place to ensure that findings will be relevant to people affected by or at risk of cancer
  • consideration of equity, diversity and inclusion principles in team composition and recruitment processes, and training and development opportunities

Environment (10%)

  • quality of the research environment in which the work will take place (is there appropriate equipment, mentorship, etc. available to support success, taking into consideration contributions of collaborators as required)
It is understood that applications may also be made to other agencies to provide support for grants/programs similar to those submitted to CCS. For this competition, duplicate applications submitted to CCS and other agencies will be accepted, but budgetary overlap will not be permitted at the funding stage. CCS will also allow an eligible proposal with a budget greater than that available from this competition. In such a case, CCS’s funding will be contingent upon the acquisition of funds for the entire project.

For applicants applying to the Atlantic Cancer Research competition, applications will be accepted to the Challenge grant program as well. In the event that both applications are funded, Atlantic Cancer Research grants will be topped up to the amount awarded through the Challenge grant program (and projects are expected to be expanded in scope as appropriate).

How to apply

Review eligibility and requirements

Consult CCS eligibility and requirements. Review CCS requirements for Principal Investigators, their teams, and Host Institutions. 

Review application guide
Download our application guide for step-by-step instructions on how to apply for this grant as well as other important information that you need to know.
Apply
Click here to apply for this funding opportunity.

Subventions Défi

La Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) est fière de lancer un nouveau programme de financement pour encourager la recherche sur le cancer dans l’ensemble du Canada.

Faits saillants du programme

Le programme des Subventions Défi de la SCC appuiera des projets de recherche portant sur l’ensemble du spectre du cancer et issus de divers domaines, avec comme objectif ultime de résoudre un problème (c.-à-d. un « défi ») lié au cancer qui revêt de l’importance pour les personnes qui sont atteintes de cette maladie ou qui sont à risque de l’être.

Dates limites

Date limite pour l’inscription du résumé 
28 juillet 2021
Date limite pour la demande intégrale
22 septembre 2021
Annonce des résultats

janvier 2022

Date de début prevue
1er janvier 2022

Contexte

La Société canadienne du cancer (SCC) est fière de lancer un nouveau programme de financement pour encourager la recherche sur le cancer dans l’ensemble du Canada. Nous sommes conscients que la dernière année a posé des défis exceptionnels à tous, mais elle a aussi donné l’occasion à l’équipe de la recherche de la SCC de revoir et d’actualiser sa mission en élaborant une nouvelle stratégie de recherche dont nous poursuivons la mise au point. Alors que nous finalisons nos plans pour l’avenir, nous voulons nous assurer de continuer à soutenir le rétablissement de l’écosystème de la recherche sur le cancer au Canada.

Nous ne savons pas encore si les Subventions Défi seront offertes de façon régulière ni si nos programmes déjà établis (Subventions pour l’innovation, Subventions d’une innovation à un impact et Subventions pour un impact) reprendront comme d’habitude. Comme nous visons l’excellence en matière d’inclusion et afin de souscrire à notre stratégie de recherche en développement, nous gardons en tête que ces programmes pourraient être révisés et améliorés pour s’inscrire dans notre mandat en constante évolution. En outre, nous devons accroître la résilience de nos programmes face aux répercussions inattendues de la pandémie de COVID-19. Nous apporterons des clarifications dès que nous en saurons plus.
 

Description du programme

Le programme des Subventions Défi appuiera des projets de recherche portant sur l’ensemble du spectre du cancer et issus de divers domaines, avec comme objectif ultime de résoudre un problème (c.-à-d. un « défi ») lié au cancer qui revêt de l’importance pour les personnes qui sont atteintes de cette maladie ou qui sont à risque de l’être. Que leurs recherches entraînent des résultats qui auront des retombées immédiates (comme un changement concernant les outils, les traitements, les programmes, les politiques ou les pratiques) ou à long terme (comme une découverte importante concernant la biologie ou l’étiologie du cancer susceptible de se traduire en applications concrètes pour améliorer les résultats), les candidats doivent clairement énoncer la contribution attendue du projet qu’ils proposent pour surmonter le défi auquel ils décident de s’attaquer, en plus de fournir une estimation de l’échéancier menant à sa réussite.

Des données préliminaires/justificatives sont requises et les candidats doivent expliquer comment les fonds reçus serviront à trouver une solution au défi retenu, à la fois durant la période de la subvention et après, pour consolider la portée du projet si ses buts sont atteints. Les candidats décriront comment les connaissances acquises grâce aux subventions seront partagées ou exploitées (en prévoyant les prochaines étapes); les stratégies allant au-delà des publications et des présentations sont fortement encouragées (p. ex. : stratégies mobilisant de façon précoce les cliniciens et autres praticiens ou les utilisateurs finaux pour assurer l’utilité des connaissances). Les candidats devront aussi intégrer le sexe, le genre et d’autres facteurs liés à l’identité (p. ex., race, origine ethnique) et leur intersectionnalité dans la conception de la recherche, la méthodologie, l’analyse, l’interprétation et de la diffusion des résultats, lorsqu’il est pertinent de le faire.

Les demandes touchant les quatre piliers de la recherche en santé (c.-à-d. la recherche biomédicale, la recherche clinique, la recherche sur les services de santé et la recherche sociale, culturelle, environnementale et axée sur la santé des populations) sont encouragées. La diversité de stade de carrière, de région géographique, de genre et d’autres dimensions sera considérée lors du processus d’évaluation. Les demandes seront notées en fonction de l’excellence en matière d’inclusion en recherche et de la pertinence par rapport au cancer, plus particulièrement la probabilité qu’un projet apporte (ultimement) une solution à un problème lié au cancer.

La SCC adhère aux principes d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion et s’efforce de promouvoir l’excellence en matière d’inclusion dans ses programmes de recherche. Nous invitons tous les candidats admissibles de divers horizons à soumettre une demande pour nos occasions de financement.

Les demandes se concentrant sur le cancer du sein et le cancer de la prostate sont encouragées. 

Fonds disponibles

Le financement sera octroyé afin de couvrir les coûts directs de la recherche, dont les fournitures, les salaires admissibles et le matériel associés au travail proposé. Les demandes pour le matériel ne peuvent pas dépasser 15 % du budget demandé. Les coûts indirects ne sont pas admissibles. Veuillez vous reporter à nos politiques en matière d’utilisation des subventions lors de l’élaboration de votre budget.
Budget total
environ 15,75 millions de dollars
Période de 3 ans 
jusqu’à 150 000 $ par année
Materiel
15 % du budget 

Renseignements additionnels

Sept comités d’examen par des pairs se réuniront pour évaluer les demandes intégrales. Les candidats seront invités à suggérer leur premier et leur second choix de comité dans le cadre de l’inscription du résumé et du processus de demande. Toutefois, la SCC se réserve le droit de soumettre une demande à tout comité possédant l’expertise nécessaire pour l’évaluer.

Les comités d’évaluation par les pairs seront composés de scientifiques diversifiés (de genre, de région géographique, de stade de carrière et de race différents) et possédant une expertise pertinente aux candidatures qui leur seront soumises ainsi que de représentants des patients, des survivants et des aidants qui évalueront la pertinence des demandes par rapport au cancer (reportez-vous aux critères ci-dessous pour en savoir plus). 

 

Comité

Description

Codes CSC

C1 : Mécanismes du risque, de l’apparition et de l’évolution

Recherche visant à comprendre les mécanismes du risque, de l’apparition et de la propagation du cancer

1.1-1.5, 2.1-2.4

C2 : Biomarqueurs moléculaires

Recherche visant à découvrir et à évaluer des biomarqueurs (diagnostiques, pronostiques et prédictifs) liés au cancer, y compris en milieu clinique et en contexte d’application

4.1-4.4

C3 : Imagerie et technologie

Recherche visant à concevoir de nouvelles techniques d’imagerie ou autres technologies (p. ex. : intelligence artificielle, apprentissage machine, nanotechnologies, robotique, dispositifs portables, etc.) ou à les améliorer, y compris en milieu clinique et en contexte d’application, en vue d’améliorer la détection, le pronostic ou la surveillance du cancer

4.1-4.4

C4 : Traitement

Recherche visant à découvrir et à élaborer (ou utiliser différemment) de nouvelles stratégies de traitement du cancer (p. ex. : agents thérapeutiques, radiothérapie et chirurgie), y compris en milieu clinique

5.1-5.7

C5 : Prévention

Recherche axée sur la prévention primaire du cancer (incluant des études interventionnelles et observationnelles)

3.1-3.6

C6 : Soins de soutien

Recherche axée sur des résultats liés au cancer centrés sur le patient, les besoins psychosociaux et physiques des personnes atteintes de cancer ainsi que les soins palliatifs et les soins de fin de vie

6.1, 6.6, 6.9

C7 : Services et politiques de santé

Recherche visant à améliorer la prestation de services de santé liés au cancer, y compris la qualité, l’efficacité, la rentabilité, l’accès équitable, la collecte et l’analyse de données, le dépistage, la surveillance et les politiques

6.2-6.5, 6.7

L’inscription des résumés est obligatoire et guidera la composition des comités d’examen. Un maximum d’une demande par chercheur principal est permis pour ce concours (les candidats peuvent apparaître comme cochercheurs principaux sur plusieurs demandes).

L’inscription de résumé comprend :

  1. Renseignements sur les demandeurs (chercheur principal, cochercheurs principaux, codemandeurs, auteurs additionnels, patients/survivants/aidants, utilisateurs des connaissances, etc.)
  2. Résumé scientifique (et résumé non confidentiel)
  3. Mots-clés
  4. Recommandation de comité
  5. Évaluateurs suggérés
  6. Renseignements pour le suivi de la recherche

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le guide d’inscription de résumé. Les changements substantiels qui modifient grandement les objectifs généraux et les buts de la proposition faisant l’objet de l’inscription de résumé ne sont pas permis.

Les éléments suivants sont requis dans la demande intégrale :

  1. Résumé public
  2. Déclaration énonçant clairement le défi lié au cancer qui sera abordé (ou partiellement abordé) dans le cadre de la subvention Description des progrès à réaliser durant la période de la subvention ainsi que des prochaines étapes si les buts du projet sont atteints (incluant une estimation de l’échéancier menant à son impact) et explication de l’importance du projet pour les personnes qui sont touchées par le cancer ou qui sont à risque de l’être
  3. Résumé scientifique (et résumé non confidentiel)
  4. Proposition scientifique détaillée (environ 5 pages de texte à simple interligne) comprenant l’objectif global et les buts du projet, les données justificatives, le concept expérimental, la méthodologie et les analyses (y compris les stratégies de rechange); il est permis d’inclure 2 pages additionnelles de figures, de tableaux et de diagrammes accompagnés de leur légende
  5. Activités d’application des connaissances et de mobilisation (les stratégies allant au-delà des publications et des présentations sont fortement encouragées)
  6. Considérations relatives au sexe, au genre et à d’autres dimensions de la diversité ainsi qu’à leur intersectionnalité
  7. Renseignements sur les membres de l’équipe, expliquant notamment quels membres de l’équipe de recherche seront responsables de chacun des aspects du projet ainsi que le motif de leur participation au projet (requis), et description de l’environnement dans lequel se déroulera la recherche; la prise en compte des principes d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion  dans la composition de l’équipe de recherche doit être évidente
  8. Budget détaillé accompagné d’une justification motivant les fournitures, le personnel et le matériel demandés dans le cadre du projet de recherche; ces renseignements doivent comprendre le nombre de personnes requis pour mener à bien le projet, une description de leur expérience ou de leur niveau d’éducation ainsi que le temps que chacune investira dans le projet; les chercheurs devront également indiquer à quelles provinces iront les fonds accordés au projet

Les critères d’évaluation des demandes intégrales comprendront quatre grandes catégories : stratégie de recherche, pertinence, équipe et environnement.

Stratégie de recherche (~ 50 %)

  • intérêt scientifique et justification convaincante prenant en compte l’examen critique et l’analyse des données préliminaires ou de la documentation publiée
  • faisabilité du projet, y compris la détermination des problèmes possibles et des stratégies envisagées pour y remédier, dont des solutions de rechange
  • buts adéquatement établis pour générer des données ou de l’information utiles qui serviront à appuyer une solution au défi retenu
  • sexe, genre et autres facteurs liés à l’identité (p. ex., race, origine ethnique) et leur intersectionnalité envisagés adéquatement dans le contexte de la conception de la recherche, de la méthodologie, de l’analyse, de l’interprétation et de la diffusion des résultats
  • caractère approprié de la durée du projet et de l’ampleur du soutien demandé

Pertinence (~ 25 %)

  • bonne description d’un défi lié au cancer clairement défini et des étapes appropriées pour s’y attaquer, à la fois pendant la période de la subvention et après
  • potentiel du projet d’entraîner des résultats qui auront (ultimement) de l’importance pour les personnes qui sont touchées par le cancer ou qui sont à risque de l’être
  • activités d’application des connaissances et de mobilisation qui s’harmonisent bien avec l’axe de la subvention et qui contribueront à surmonter le défi retenu

Équipe (~ 15 %)

  • qualifications et expertise pertinente des chercheurs et des autres membres de l’équipe (y compris les collaborateurs), en particulier celles contribuant au potentiel de résolution (ultimement) du défi retenu (veuillez noter que le stade de carrière des chercheurs sera pris en considération, en tenant compte de toute période d’interruption des activités professionnelles)
  • présence de membres appropriés dans l’équipe pour veiller à ce que les résultats soient pertinents pour les personnes qui sont atteintes de cancer ou qui sont à risque de l’être
  • prise en compte des principes d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion dans la composition de l’équipe, les procédures de recrutement de même que les occasions de formation et de perfectionnement

Environnement (10 %)

  • qualité de l’environnement de recherche dans lequel les travaux seront effectués (matériel adéquat, ressources de mentorat, etc. accessibles pour favoriser la réussite du projet, en tenant compte des contributions des collaborateurs au besoin)
 
Il est entendu que des demandes semblables à celles présentées à la SCC peuvent également être soumises à d’autres agences en vue d’obtenir le soutien de subventions ou de programmes. Dans le cadre du présent concours, les demandes faites en double à la SCC et à d’autres organismes seront acceptées, mais un chevauchement du budget ne sera pas permis à l’étape du financement. La SCC permettra également les propositions admissibles dont le budget excède celui établi pour le présent concours. Dans ce cas, le financement de la SCC dépendra de l’acquisition de fonds pour le projet entier.

Les demandes des candidats qui soumettent aussi une candidature au concours des Subventions pour la recherche sur le cancer de l’Atlantique seront également acceptées dans le cadre du programme des Subventions Défi. Dans l’éventualité où les deux demandes seraient retenues, la Subvention pour la recherche sur le cancer de l’Atlantique sera rehaussée jusqu’au montant octroyé dans le cadre du programme des Subventions Défi (et on s’attendra à ce que la portée du projet soit accrue comme il convient). 

Pour faire une demande

Consultez les criteres d admissibilite et les exigences de la SCC

Passez en revue les exigences de la SCC s’appliquant aux chercheurs principaux, à leurs équipes et aux établissements hôtes.

Passez en revue le guide de demande

Téléchargez notre guide de demande pour obtenir des instructions décrivant, étape par étape, comment faire une demande pour cette subvention et pour prendre connaissance d’autres renseignements importants.

Faites une demande

Cliquez ici pour faire une demande pour cette occasion de financement.