Occupation statistics

Conducted by the Occupational Cancer Research Centre (OCRC), the Burden of Occupational Cancer Study estimates the burden of cancer due to occupational exposures in Canada. The study’s findings were published in a report looking at the 13 work-related risk factors that contribute the most to the occupational cancer burden in Canada. These risk factors include exposure to asbestos, UV radiation from the sun, second-hand smoke and night shift work.

Led by principal investigator Dr Paul Demers, the study was funded by the Canadian Cancer Society (CCS). OCRC is jointly funded by CCS, Cancer Care Ontario and the Ontario Ministry of Labour and was developed in collaboration with the United Steel workers. CCS has been funding OCRC since its inception in 2009, including a $1.4 million investment between 2014 and 2020.

Key statistics

About 10,000 cancer cases in Canada are due to exposure to cancer-causing substances in the workplace each year.

Solar radiation, asbestos, diesel engine exhaust and crystalline silica have the largest estimated impact on cancer burden related to workplace risk exposure. The highest number of Canadian workers are exposed to these substances.

Solar radiation

About 1.4 million Canadian workers are exposed to solar radiation. An estimated 4,600 non-melanoma skin cancer cases per year are due to solar radiation.

Asbestos

More than 150,000 workers are exposed to asbestos. An estimated 1,900 lung cancer cases, 430 mesothelioma cases, 45 laryngeal cancer cases and 15 ovarian cancer cases per year are due to asbestos.

Diesel engine exhaust

About 897,000 workers are exposed to diesel engine exhaust. Every year it accounts for 560 lung cancer cases and it may account for 200 bladder cancer cases.

Crystalline silica

An estimated 382,000 Canadian workers are exposed to crystalline silica. Annually almost 570 lung cancer cases are due to crystalline silica.

This research provides data and evidence-based recommendations that could help guide future prevention and advocacy efforts to reduce the cancer burden in Canada and help more people avoid a cancer diagnosis. There are many opportunities to reduce the burden of occupational cancer in Canada. Through policy changes and workplace-based measures, we can limit exposure to these risk factors and prevent occupational cancers across the country.

Resources

Outdoor worker checks paperwork on clipboard at construction site

Burden of Occupational Cancer in Canada

This report presents estimates of occupational exposure and the associated burden of cancer by industry. It also looks at strategies to reduce exposure to the most common cancer-causing substances in the workplace in Canada.



Data dashboard

This interactive tool can help you explore the attributable cases of workplace-related cancers in Canada in 2011 by risk factor, cancer type, sex and geography.

Publication

This peer-reviewed manuscript shares the results of the Burden of Occupational Cancer Study.

Statistiques sur les cancers professionnels

Menée par le Centre de recherche sur le cancer professionnel (CRCP), l’étude sur le fardeau des cancers professionnels au Canada a estimé le fardeau des cancers dus à une exposition professionnelle au Canada. Les résultats de cette étude ont été publiés dans un rapport qui s’est penché sur les 13 facteurs de risque liés au travail qui contribuent le plus au fardeau des cancers professionnels au Canada. Ces facteurs de risque incluent l’exposition à l’amiante, aux rayons UV du soleil, à la fumée secondaire et au travail de nuit.

L’étude a été menée par le chercheur principal Paul Demers et financée par la Société canadienne du cancer (SCC). Le CRCP est financé conjointement par la SCC, Action Cancer Ontario et le ministère du Travail de l’Ontario, et il a été établi en collaboration avec le Syndicat des Métallos. La SCC subventionne le CRCP depuis sa création en 2009 et lui a remis 1,4 M$ entre 2014 et 2020.


Statistiques clés

Environ 10 000 cas de cancer au Canada sont dus à l’exposition en milieu de travail à des substances qui causent le cancer chaque année.

Le rayonnement solaire, l’amiante, le gaz d’échappement des moteurs diesels et la silice cristalline ont le plus grand effet estimé sur le fardeau du cancer lié à l’exposition à des risques en milieu de travail. Un plus grand nombre de travailleurs canadiens sont exposés à ces substances.


Rayonnement solaire
Environ 1,4 million de travailleurs canadiens sont exposés au rayonnement solaire. On estime que 4600 cas de cancer de la peau autre que le mélanome sont dus au rayonnement solaire chaque année
Amiante

Plus de 150 000 travailleurs sont exposés à l’amiante. On estime que 1900 cas de cancer du poumon, 430 cas de mésothéliome, 45 cas de cancer du larynx et 15 cas de cancer de l’ovaire sont dus à l’amiante chaque année.


Gaz d’échappement des moteurs diesels

Environ 897 000 travailleurs sont exposés au gaz d’échappement des moteurs diesels. Chaque année, ce facteur est responsable de 560 cas de cancer du poumon et pourrait causer 200 cas de cancer de la vessie.


Silice cristalline
On estime que 382 000 travailleurs canadiens sont exposés à la silice cristalline. Chaque année, près de 570 cas de cancer du poumon sont dus à la silice cristalline.

Cette recherche fournit des données et sert de base à des recommandations qui pourraient aider à guider les initiatives futures de prévention et de défense de l’intérêt public visant à réduire le fardeau du cancer au Canada et à permettre à plus de personnes d’éviter un diagnostic de cancer. Il existe de nombreuses occasions de réduire le fardeau des cancers professionnels au Canada. En changeant les politiques et en adoptant de nouvelles mesures dans les milieux de travail, on peut limiter l’exposition à ces facteurs de risque et prévenir des cancers professionnels dans l’ensemble du pays.


Ressources

Un travailleur extérieur consulte un document sur une planchette sur un chantier de construction

Fardeau des cancers professionnels au Canada

Ce rapport présente des estimations de l’exposition professionnelle et du fardeau du cancer associé par industrie. Il se penche également sur des stratégies permettant de réduire l’exposition aux substances les plus courantes qui causent le cancer en milieu de travail au Canada.


Tableau de bord des données

Cet outil interactif vous permet d’explorer les cas de cancer attribuables à une exposition professionnelle au Canada en 2011 par facteur de risque, par type de cancer, par sexe et par région géographique


Publication

Cet article évalué par un comité de lecture fait part des résultats de l’étude sur le fardeau des cancers professionnels au Canada.