Research

Cancer statistics

Nearly 1 in 2 Canadians will be diagnosed with cancer at some point during their lifetime. Approximately 1 in 4 Canadians is expected to die of the disease, making cancer the leading cause of death in Canada.

Cancer statistics tell us how many people in Canada are diagnosed with and die from cancer each year. They show us the trends in new cancer cases and cancer deaths. Cancer statistics also tell us the likelihood of surviving a cancer diagnosis and the percentage of people who are alive years after a cancer diagnosis.

Cancer surveillance is the regular collection and analysis of cancer data to generate statistics on the burden of cancer. It includes monitoring new cancer cases, deaths, survival and prevalence, as well as monitoring how these measures change over time. It is a fundamental part of understanding and evaluating cancer control efforts.

We’ve made significant progress in reducing cancer incidence and mortality. Today, we know more than ever before about what causes cancer, how it develops and how best to prevent and treat it. Despite the progress we’ve made, the number of new cancer cases continues to increase as a result of the growing and aging population. Between 2015 and 2030, the number of new cancer cases diagnosed is expected to increase by about 40%.

Cancer poses an enormous burden on both the health of Canadians and the healthcare system. Statistics are an important part of healthcare planning and measuring the success of cancer control.

A cover photo of the Canadian Cancer Statistics 2020 special report on lung cancer

Canadian Cancer Statistics

The Canadian Cancer Statistics products provide health professionals, researchers, policy-makers and the general public with the most up-to-date statistics on cancer in Canada. They are developed by the Canadian Cancer Statistics Advisory Committee in collaboration with the Canadian Cancer Society, the Public Health Agency of Canada and Statistics Canada with data provided by the provincial and territorial cancer registries.

A cover photo of the Canadian Cancer Statistics 2020 special report on lung cancer

Cancer statistics at a glance

These statistics give a general overview of cancer in Canada including incidence, mortality, trends in cancer rates, probability of developing or dying from cancer and survival rates.

10 people stand in front of a Canadian flag and cityscape holding hands

Cancer statistics infographics

These infographics present key findings from Canadian Cancer Statistics products and provide a comprehensive picture of cancer in Canada.

10 people stand in front of a Canadian flag and cityscape holding hands

How many cancers are due to modifiable risk factors?  

We know more than ever before about what increases cancer risk and how to reduce the burden of modifiable risk factors in Canada. Two CCS-funded studies have added to our knowledge on lifestyle, environmental, occupational and infectious agent risk factor impact on cancer in Canada.

Occupation statistics

The Burden of Occupational Cancer study estimates the burden of cancer due to occupational exposures in Canada. The study looks at the 13 work-related risk factors that contribute the most to the occupational cancer burden in Canada. They include asbestos, UV radiation from the sun, second-hand smoke and night shift work.

Prevention statistics

The Canadian Population Attributable Risk of Cancer (ComPARe) study estimates the number and percentage of cancers caused by more than 20 lifestyle, environmental and infectious agent risk factors. The study also provides estimates of how changes in the prevalence of these risk factors could impact cancer incidence in the future by 2042.

Are you a cancer stats whiz?

Statistiques sur le cancer

Près de 1 Canadien sur 2 recevra un diagnostic de cancer au cours de sa vie. On prévoit qu’environ 1 Canadien sur 4 mourra de la maladie, ce qui fait du cancer la principale cause de décès au Canada.

Les statistiques sur le cancer nous renseignent sur le nombre de personnes qui reçoivent un diagnostic de cancer ou qui meurent de cette maladie chaque année au Canada. Elles nous révèlent les tendances concernant les nouveaux cas de cancer et les décès qui y sont liés. Les statistiques sur le cancer nous indiquent également quelle est la probabilité de survivre à un diagnostic de cancer et quel pourcentage de personnes sont toujours en vie un certain nombre d’années après avoir reçu un diagnostic.

La surveillance du cancer désigne la collecte régulière et l’analyse de données sur le cancer en vue d’établir des statistiques sur le fardeau du cancer. Elle englobe le suivi des nouveaux cas de cancer, des décès, de la survie et de la prévalence, ainsi que de l’évolution de ces mesures avec le temps. La surveillance du cancer est essentielle pour comprendre et évaluer les efforts des actions contre le cancer.

Nous avons fait des progrès considérables en matière de diminution de l’incidence et de la mortalité. Aujourd’hui, nous en savons plus que jamais sur les causes du cancer, sur son évolution et sur les moyens les plus efficaces pour le prévenir et le traiter. Malgré les progrès réalisés, le nombre de nouveaux cas de cancer continue d’augmenter en raison de la croissance et du vieillissement de la population. On estime qu’entre 2015 et 2030, le nombre de nouveaux cas de cancer augmentera d’environ 40 %.

Le cancer représente un énorme fardeau pour la santé des Canadiens comme pour le système de santé. Les statistiques constituent une composante importante de la planification des soins de santé et de la mesure du succès des actions contre le cancer.

Une photo de couverture du rapport spécial 2020 de Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer sur le cancer du poumon

Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer

Les ressources des Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer fournissent aux professionnels de la santé, aux chercheurs, aux décideurs et au grand public les plus récentes statistiques sur le cancer au Canada. Elles sont élaborées par le Comité directeur des statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer en collaboration avec la Société canadienne du cancer, l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada et Statistique Canada, à partir de données tirées des registres du cancer des provinces et des territoires.


Une photo de couverture du rapport spécial 2020 de Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer sur le cancer du poumon

Vue d’ensemble des statistiques sur le cancer

Ces statistiques donnent un aperçu général du cancer au Canada, notamment de l’incidence, de la mortalité, des tendances des taux de cancer, de la probabilité d’en être atteint ou d’en mourir ainsi que des taux de survie.


10 personnes se tenant la main debout devant un drapeau canadien et un paysage urbain

Infographies sur les statistiques sur le cancer

Ces infographies présentent les principales données des ressources des Statistiques canadiennes sur le cancer et dressent le tableau complet du cancer au Canada


10 personnes se tenant la main debout devant un drapeau canadien et un paysage urbain

Combien de cancers sont causés par des facteurs de risque modifiables?

Nous en savons plus que jamais sur ce qui accroît le risque de cancer et sur les moyens de réduire le fardeau des facteurs de risque modifiables au Canada. Deux études financées par la SCC ont approfondi nos connaissances des effets de facteurs de risque de cancer au Canada liés au mode de vie, à l’environnement, au milieu de travail et aux agents infectieux.


Statistiques sur les cancers professionnels

L’étude sur le fardeau des cancers professionnels au Canada a estimé le fardeau des cancers dus à une exposition professionnelle au Canada. Elle s’est penchée sur les 13 facteurs de risque liés au travail qui contribuent le plus au fardeau des cancers professionnels au Canada. Ces facteurs de risque incluent l’amiante, les rayons UV du soleil, la fumée secondaire et le travail de nuit.


Statistiques sur la prévention

L’étude ComPARe (Canadian Population Attributable Risk of Cancer, Risque attribuable du cancer chez la population canadienne) a estimé le nombre et le pourcentage de cancers causés par plus de 20 facteurs de risque liés au mode de vie, à l’environnement et aux agents infectieux. Elle a aussi estimé comment le changement de la prévalence de ces facteurs de risque pourrait avoir une influence sur l’incidence future du cancer d’ici 2042.


Êtes-vous expert en statistiques sur le cancer?