Canada flag
advocacy

Access to cancer drugs and diagnostics 

The role of cancer drugs

Prescription drugs play an essential role in cancer treatment. Cancer drugs such as chemotherapy, hormone therapy, biological therapy and immunotherapy work in different ways to destroy cancer cells, stop them from spreading or slow down their growth. Drugs are also being used to lessen, or relieve, side effects of cancer or its treatment. Advances in cancer treatment, diagnostics and care have led to more people surviving cancer. Today, over 60% of Canadians diagnosed with cancer will survive at least 5 years after their diagnosis. In the 1940s, survival was about 25%.

Drug access challenges facing Canadians

The healthcare system continues to evolve and adapt to meet the needs of patients, but there are still significant gaps in care. Canadians with cancer may face some of the following challenges with drug access:
The drug recommended by their oncologist is not covered through provincial or territorial drug benefits or their private insurer
Take-home cancer drugs are recommended as the best therapeutic option but the province they live in does not cover the cost of these medications, forcing them to pay costs out of pocket
The drug recommended by their oncologist is delayed because it is in the process of being reviewed through the drug approval process

Dealing with a cancer diagnosis is difficult enough. People with cancer should not have to face additional challenges and anxiety trying to access their prescribed treatment. 

Drug shortages

Drug shortages continue to be a serious and growing concern within the Canadian health care system that has been impacting delivery of patient care and treatment for years. We know that shortages are deeply worrying to people with cancer and their families – it is simply not acceptable to go without the medication you need.

Pharmaceutical companies must report the following on the website www.drugshortagescanada.ca:

an anticipated drug shortage

a discontinuation of a drug six months in advance

any previously unreported shortage within five days of learning about it

Gaps in the Canadian healthcare system present an opportunity for the federal government to develop and implement long-term solutions to address ongoing drug shortage challenges that have impacted people with cancer for years. The government must work with industry partners, professional associations, provinces and territories, healthcare representatives and other countries to rapidly identify and respond to disruptions. People with cancer deserve to have uninterrupted and reliable access to required medications in a timely manner, without financial hardship.

Take home medications

For many years, cancer drugs were usually given in a hospital, and patients did not have to worry about how to access their prescribed treatment. Now, many new cancer treatments are taken at home instead of in the hospital. This has many benefits for a person who has cancer – the medicines are easy to take and less travel is required. But depending on the province, it also means the person with cancer has to figure out how to access these drugs.

In Ontario and Nova Scotia, for example, coverage for take-home cancer drugs comes from a mix of private insurance, out-of-pocket costs or various provincial programs. The western provinces (British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba) have programs for eligible cancer drugs given in a hospital or at home.

The disparity in access to take-home cancer drugs among provinces is not acceptable and must be fixed. Provincial and territorial governments must take immediate action to implement programs for take-home cancer drugs.

Our position

Canadians should have equitable access to PSA test for early detection of prostate cancer without having to pay out-of-pocket when they have a physician referral before any signs or symptoms, regardless of where they live in Canada. 

Take-home cancer drugs Ontario

What are take-home cancer drugs?

Over the last decade, cancer care for many types of cancer has changed from in-hospital to at-home, with take-home cancer drugs becoming a standard treatment for many cancers. In fact, almost half of drugs used to treat all types of cancer are taken at home instead of in the hospital. Take-home cancer drugs allow individuals with cancer to undergo treatment in the comfort of their own home, free from burdensome and often costly travel to and from hospital. 

Who pays for take-home cancer drugs?

However, in Ontario, take-home cancer drugs are not publicly funded in the same way medications delivered in hospital are funded. While people with cancer who receive cancer treatment in the hospital have universal access to cancer drugs with no undue delays or direct costs, Ontarians with cancer who require treatments taken at home are faced with out-of-pocket costs, administrative barriers, and delays to treatment access.

A gap in coverage can have a significant effect on treatment plans for people living with cancer. Studies show financial struggles can impact the decisions people with cancer make: they may not follow through with their treatment plan, such as rationing their required medication to reduce their costs, or they may pursue alternative treatments whose costs are covered. In a universal system, patients and their doctors should be making treatment decisions based on what is best medically without having to worry about the financial cost.

In a recent poll conducted by CCS, 96% of the Ontarians polled agreed that the government should fund take-home cancer drugs, and 82% of Ontarians support fully funding take-home cancer drugs even if it meant paying more in taxes.

Our position

The Canadian Cancer Society believes all Canadians should have access to take-home cancer drug treatments without financial hardship, regardless of where they live. Coping with a cancer diagnosis and undergoing treatment is difficult enough; people with cancer and their families should not have to deal with the additional stress of having to determine how they will pay for their medication. CCS is calling on the Ontario government to fund take-home cancer drugs the same way they do medications taken in hospital.

Take-home cancer drugs Ontario

What are take-home cancer drugs?

Over the last decade, cancer care for many types of cancer has changed from in-hospital to at-home, with take-home cancer drugs becoming a standard treatment for many cancers. In fact, almost half of drugs used to treat all types of cancer are taken at home instead of in the hospital. Take-home cancer drugs allow individuals with cancer to undergo treatment in the comfort of their own home, free from burdensome and often costly travel to and from hospital. 

Who pays for take-home cancer drugs?

However, in Ontario, take-home cancer drugs are not publicly funded in the same way medications delivered in hospital are funded. While people with cancer who receive cancer treatment in the hospital have universal access to cancer drugs with no undue delays or direct costs, Ontarians with cancer who require treatments taken at home are faced with out-of-pocket costs, administrative barriers, and delays to treatment access.

A gap in coverage can have a significant effect on treatment plans for people living with cancer. Studies show financial struggles can impact the decisions people with cancer make: they may not follow through with their treatment plan, such as rationing their required medication to reduce their costs, or they may pursue alternative treatments whose costs are covered. In a universal system, patients and their doctors should be making treatment decisions based on what is best medically without having to worry about the financial cost.

In a recent poll conducted by CCS, 96% of the Ontarians polled agreed that the government should fund take-home cancer drugs, and 82% of Ontarians support fully funding take-home cancer drugs even if it meant paying more in taxes.

Our position

The Canadian Cancer Society believes all Canadians should have access to take-home cancer drug treatments without financial hardship, regardless of where they live. Coping with a cancer diagnosis and undergoing treatment is difficult enough; people with cancer and their families should not have to deal with the additional stress of having to determine how they will pay for their medication. CCS is calling on the Ontario government to fund take-home cancer drugs the same way they do medications taken in hospital.

Canada flag

Accès aux médicaments contre le cancer et aux diagnostics du cancer 

Le rôle des médicaments contre le cancer 

Les médicaments d’ordonnance jouent un rôle essentiel dans le traitement du cancer. Les médicaments contre le cancer, comme ceux employés lors de la chimiothérapie, de l’hormonothérapie, de la thérapie biologique et de l’immunothérapie, agissent de différentes façons pour détruire les cellules cancéreuses, pour les empêcher de se propager ou pour ralentir leur croissance. Ils peuvent aussi servir à atténuer ou à soulager les effets secondaires du cancer ou de son traitement. Les progrès réalisés en matière de traitement, de diagnostic et de soins du cancer ont entraîné une hausse considérable de la survie chez les personnes atteintes de cette maladie. De nos jours, plus de 60 % des Canadiens recevant un diagnostic de cancer survivront au moins cinq ans après leur diagnostic. Dans les années 1940, le taux de survie était d’environ 25 %. 

Les défis de l’accès aux médicaments auxquels sont confrontés les Canadiens 

Le système de santé continue d’évoluer et de s’adapter aux besoins des patients, mais d’importantes lacunes persistent concernant les soins. En ce qui a trait à l’accès aux médicaments, les Canadiens atteints de cancer peuvent être confrontés à certains des obstacles suivants : 

Le médicament recommandé par l’oncologue n’est pas couvert par les prestations de médicaments de leur gouvernement provincial ou territorial, ou par leur assureur privé. 

Les médicaments contre le cancer à prendre à la maison représentent la meilleure option de traitement recommandée, mais la province dans laquelle ils vivent ne couvre pas le coût de ces médicaments, ce qui les oblige à les payer de leur poche. 

Le médicament recommandé par l’oncologue n’est pas disponible, car il est en cours d’examen dans le cadre du processus d’homologation des médicaments

Faire face à un diagnostic de cancer est déjà amplement difficile. Les personnes atteintes d’un cancer ne devraient pas avoir à être confrontées à d’autres obstacles ni à éprouver de l’anxiété alors qu’elles tentent d’avoir accès au traitement qui leur a été prescrit.

Pénuries de médicaments

Les pénuries de médicaments continuent d’être une préoccupation sérieuse et grandissante dans le système de soins de santé canadien, et elles ont des répercussions depuis des années sur la prestation des soins et sur l’administration des traitements aux patients. Nous savons que de telles pénuries représentent une grande source d’inquiétude pour les patients et leurs familles; il est tout simplement inacceptable d’être privé des médicaments dont on a besoin. 

Les entreprises pharmaceutiques doivent maintenant signaler, sur le site Web www.penuriesdemedicamentscanada.ca :

les pénuries de médicaments prévues
l’interruption de la production de médicament (six mois d’avance); 
toute pénurie n’ayant pas déjà été signalée (tout au plus cinq jours après en avoir pris connaissance). 

Les lacunes dans le système de soins de santé du Canada offrent au gouvernement fédéral une occasion d’élaborer et de mettre en œuvre des solutions à long terme pour remédier aux constantes pénuries de médicaments qui, depuis des années, touchent les personnes atteintes de cancer. Le gouvernement doit travailler avec des partenaires de l’industrie, avec des associations professionnelles, avec des représentants des systèmes de santé provinciaux et territoriaux, et avec d’autres pays afin de vite détecter les ruptures de stock et d’y réagir sans tarder. Les personnes atteintes de cancer méritent d’avoir accès à un approvisionnement continu en médicaments nécessaires, et ce, rapidement et sans difficulté financière.

Médicaments à prendre à la maison 

Pendant de nombreuses années, les médicaments contre le cancer étaient habituellement administrés à l’hôpital et les patients n’avaient pas à se préoccuper de l’accès au traitement qui leur avait été prescrit. De nos jours, beaucoup de nouveaux traitements contre le cancer sont administrés à la maison plutôt qu’à l’hôpital, ce qui rime avec de nombreux avantages pour les personnes atteintes : les médicaments sont faciles à prendre et moins de déplacements sont nécessaires. Toutefois, selon la province où elles résident, les personnes atteintes doivent aussi trouver un moyen d’avoir accès à ces médicaments. 

Par exemple, en Ontario et en Nouvelle-Écosse, la couverture des médicaments contre le cancer à prendre à la maison provient d’une combinaison d’assurance privée, de programmes provinciaux et de frais à payer de sa poche. Dans les provinces de l’Ouest (Colombie-Britannique, Alberta, Saskatchewan et Manitoba), des programmes couvrent des médicaments contre le cancer admissibles qui sont administrés à l’hôpital ou à la maison. 

La disparité entre les provinces quant à l’accès aux médicaments contre le cancer à prendre à la maison n’est pas acceptable et l’égalité doit être obtenue. Les gouvernements des provinces et des territoires devraient agir immédiatement afin de mettre en œuvre des programmes couvrant les médicaments contre le cancer à prendre à la maison. 

Notre position 

Les Canadiens devraient avoir un accès équitable aux médicaments contre le cancer dont ils ont besoin, et ce, sans difficulté financière, peu importe leur lieu de résidence et l’endroit où ils prennent ces médicaments.

Médicaments anticancéreux à prendre à la maison en Ontario

Médicaments anticancéreux à prendre à la maison : de quoi s’agit-il? 

Au cours de la dernière décennie, les soins oncologiques ont grandement changé, passant de soins administrés à l’hôpital à des soins dispensés à domicile pour de nombreux types de cancer. De plus, les médicaments anticancéreux à prendre à la maison sont devenus le traitement standard dans bien des cas. En fait, près de la moitié des médicaments prescrits contre tous les types de cancer se prennent à la maison plutôt qu’à l’hôpital. Grâce aux médicaments anticancéreux à prendre à la maison, les patients peuvent suivre un traitement dans le confort de leur propre foyer, sans devoir composer avec des déplacements compliqués et souvent coûteux vers et depuis l’hôpital. 

Qui paie les médicaments anticancéreux à prendre à la maison?

Par contre, en Ontario, les médicaments à prendre à la maison ne sont pas financés par l’État comme le sont les médicaments administrés à l’hôpital. Alors que les personnes qui reçoivent un traitement anticancéreux à l’hôpital ont un accès universel aux médicaments anticancéreux sans retard indu ni coûts directs, les Ontariens qui ont besoin d’un traitement administré à la maison doivent débourser des montants de leur poche en plus de se heurter à des obstacles administratifs et à des délais d’attente des traitements.

Une lacune dans la couverture peut avoir une incidence importante sur les plans de traitement des personnes atteintes de cancer. Des études indiquent que les difficultés financières peuvent influer sur les décisions prises par ces personnes. Ces dernières pourraient ne pas respecter leur plan de traitement, par exemple en rationnant leurs médicaments pour réduire leurs coûts, ou encore suivre d’autres traitements dont les coûts sont couverts. Dans un système universel, les patients et leurs médecins devraient prendre leurs décisions de traitement en fonction des options les plus avantageuses sur le plan médical, sans avoir à se soucier des coûts. 

Selon un sondage récent mené par la SCC, 96 % des Ontariens interrogés s’entendent pour dire que le gouvernement devrait financer les médicaments à prendre à la maison, et 82 % des répondants sont en faveur de la couverture complète de ces médicaments, et ce, même si cela signifie de devoir payer plus d’impôts.  

Notre position

La Société canadienne du cancer est d’avis que tous les Canadiens devraient avoir accès à des médicaments anticancéreux à prendre à la maison, et ce, peu importe leur situation financière et l’endroit où ils vivent. Il est déjà assez difficile de composer avec un diagnostic de cancer et de suivre un traitement; les personnes atteintes de cancer ainsi que leurs familles ne devraient donc pas avoir à faire face à un stress supplémentaire consistant à se demander comment ils paieront leurs médicaments. La SCC exhorte le gouvernement de l’Ontario à financer les médicaments anticancéreux à prendre à la maison, comme il le fait pour les médicaments pris à l’hôpital.