Video

I am interested in participating in a clinical trial - what’s next?

Launched: June 19, 2019

Length: 24:29

Presenter: Dr Paul Toren

 

Webinar Overview: Dr Paul Toren discusses the clinical trial process from beginning to end. This includes how eligibility is decided, what it means to provide consent to participate, the benefits and risks of participation and the most common types of clinical trials. Dr Toren also explains the types of healthcare professionals involved in clinical trials and their roles in your care. This webinar is presented in collaboration with Q-CROC.

Paul Toren’s Biography:

Dr Toren completed medical school at Queen's University in Kingston and did his urology residency and a one-year clinical uro-oncology fellowship at the University of Toronto. He completed a 2-year research fellowship at the Vancouver Prostate Centre at the University of British Columbia under the mentorship of Drs Martin Gleave and Amina Zoubeidi. His research, which led to a PhD from the experimental medicine program at the University of British Columbia, focused on molecular mechanisms of enzalutamide-resistant prostate cancer. He currently holds a clinician-scientist position in the department of surgery at Laval University where he pursues his interests in translational prostate cancer research. His research focuses on understanding factors within the prostate cancer microenvironment that may act as biomarkers or therapeutic targets to delay resistance to treatment.
Dr Paul Toren
Dr Paul Toren

About Expert Angle

Expert Angle is a webinar series hosted by experts that provides information and support to people living with cancer, cancer survivors and their families. This series is available on demand, which means you can watch the webinars at any time from the comfort of your home.

Video

J’aimerais participer à un essai clinique – quelles sont les étapes?

Date de lancement : 20 juin 2019
Durée : 13:54
Présentateur : Dr Paul Toren

Aperçu du webinaire :Le Dr Paul Toren parle du processus d’essai clinique, du début à la fin. Il explique comment l’admissibilité est déterminée, ce que veut dire le consentement à la participation, les avantages et les risques de la participation, ainsi que les types les plus courants d’essais cliniques. Le Dr Toren décrit aussi les types de professionnels de la santé qui participent aux essais cliniques et leurs rôles dans les soins que vous recevez. Ce webinaire est présenté en collaboration avec Q-CROC.

Biographie du Dr Paul Toren :

Le Dr Toren a étudié la médecine à l’Université Queen’s à Kingston et a fait sa résidence en urologie et une formation supplémentaire d’un an en uro-oncologie clinique à l’Université de Toronto. Il a obtenu une bourse de recherche de 2 ans au Vancouver Prostate Centre à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique et travaillé sous la direction des Drs Martin Gleave et Amina Zoubeidi. Ses travaux, qui ont mené à un doctorat en médecine expérimentale à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique, ont porté sur les mécanismes moléculaires du cancer de la prostate résistant à l’enzalutamide. Il occupe actuellement un poste de clinicien-chercheur au département de chirurgie de l’Université Laval, où il poursuit ses intérêts en recherche translationnelle sur le cancer de la prostate. Ses travaux portent sur la compréhension des facteurs, dans le micro-environnement du cancer de la prostate, qui peuvent servir de biomarqueurs ou de cibles thérapeutiques pour retarder la résistance au traitement.
Dr Paul Toren
Dr Paul Toren

L'Angle de l'expert

L’Angle de l’expert est une série de webinaires animée par des spécialistes, ayant pour but d’informer et de soutenir les personnes atteintes de cancer, les survivants du cancer ainsi que leurs familles. Cette série est accessible sur demande – vous pouvez donc assister aux webinaires en tout temps, dans le confort de votre foyer.